Biographies

Gonaïves, Haïti, 1949

Cap-Haïtien, Haïti, 1957

Port-au-Prince, Haïti, 17 mars 1900 - Pétion-Ville, Haïti, 20 mai 1953

Please reload

Claude DAUPHIN (Gonaïves, Haïti, 1949)

 

Text written by Claude Dauphin, musicologist, founder of the SRDMH, on the occasion of the concert of April 2014.

 

 

Nationalist composer of the "new era", Claude Dauphin, born in Gonaives in 1949, is foremost a musicologist. He studied music at the former École normale de musique de Westmount, received a training in this field at the Université du Québec à Montréal and at the Université de Montréal, and attended the Franz Liszt Academy of Music in Budapest, where he holds a doctorate.

 

On a dozen opus numbers, two of them find favor before the demanding selectivity of their author and seem to have enough merit to have held the attention of the performers and the audience: the Contes sans paroles, for piano, and this String Quartet, played many times. Robert Grenier, the Quartet publisher, comments it as follows: "This quartet takes its originality from the fact that its composer reverses the usual perspective of nationalization to his fellow composers. He alternates European stylistic processes with Haitian-inspired motifs without favoring either of the two influences. In addition to this brilliant approach, Dauphin dispenses, in the 4th movement, a beautiful effect of bravura. This conclusive movement is the most remarkable. Its novelty resides in the way that the composer adapts, purposefully, an impressive choice of influences (Bach, Bartók, Berg, Schœnberg, Debussy, Villa-Lobos and Messiaen) that he has nonetheless rooted in the Haitian breeding ground."

Gifrants (Cap-Haïtien, Haïti, 1957)

Text written by Claude Dauphin, musicologist, founder of the SRDMH, on the occasion of the concert of April 2014.

 

 

Born in Cap-Haïtien in 1957, Gifrants lives and composes music in the United States. He is situated in the extension of the Haitian national school, working since 1905, whose "new era" is characterized by the desire to revive the native country’s expression despite its remoteness.

 

From self-taught training, Gifrants cultivates an eclectic approach of the classical music impregnated with an acquired experience firstly in popular music and jazz, with the influence of Brazilian rhythms. He recognizes in this consolidated approach the influence, often enigmatic, of his predecessor Gerald Merceron with who he aligns himself. Gifrants aspires to insert, in the classic genre, the musical workmanship of Rasin (Root) groups that combine the rural music and the urban dance music.

 

"Dyalòg" (Dialogue) and "Pasyon fou" (Mad Passion) constitute the second and fourteenth pieces of his collection for strings quartet entitled Pa amou (For Love). They are two autonomous pieces whose narrative unfolds without intermittence of contrasting movements. Inspired and prolific, Gifrants is the author of seven voluminous collections of works selected for chamber or orchestra ensembles.

Text written by Claude Dauphin, musicologist, founder of the SRDMH, on the occasion of the concert of October 2013.

 

 

The composer Werner Jaegerhuber has enriched the heritage of his country by his abundant, imposing and diverse work whose nationalist influence is still felt among the current creators of Haiti’s classical music.

 

His father, Anton, originally from Germany, married Maria Tippenhauer, a Haitian, also of German descent. According to Werner, it is his maternal grandmother, Betsy Fouché, who awakened his consciousness to the mythology of voodoo, main source of inspiration of his music. Jaegerhuber studies composition at the former Voigt Conservatory of Hamburg from 1915 to 1922.

 

This time of studies in his father’s homeland is interrupted by a stay of a few months in Haiti, in 1921. The composer returns definitely to his native land in 1937 after deploying an intense and promising professional pursuit with the best musical institutions of northern Germany. Composed for the 200th anniversary of Port-au-Prince, town founded under the French colonial regime in 1749, the score of Trois scènes historiques was completed in November 1949.

 

The work is a mythological cantata whose three scenes evoke the black settlement history of Haiti:

 

1. "The arrival" recounts the deportation of Black people of Africa towards the former colony then called Saint-Domingue, in 18th century. This scene depicts the pangs of original uprooting and crossing of the Atlantic on the sinister "slave ships", these boats intended for the transport of the human cargo.

 

2. "The slave" recalls the commodification of man, his reduction to the state of production tool of goods and pleasures, while deep down inside him resonate an irrepressible desire for love, dignity and justice.

 

3. "The free man" celebrates the revolt against the oppression, the exhilaration of freedom. The work ends with an ecumenical exaltation where the gods of voodoo, and the Judeo-Christian God are invoked by the merged soloists and chorus.

 

This cantata of anonymous roles, with the exception of the one of Neïla in the second scene, symbolizes the history of the Haitian people, moving from the loss of human rights to the transcendence, from death to resurrection, and exalts resilience and hope as an engine of great human achievements.

 

Werner JAEGERHUBER (Port-au-Prince, Haïti, 17 mars 1900 - Pétion-Ville, Haïti, 20 mai 1953)

 

    430 rue Sainte Hélène, Bureau 405, Montréal (Québec) H2Y 2K7
    Tél : 514-845-0880 – info@srdmh.com

    • Facebook Social Icon
    • Twitter Social Icon
    • YouTube Social  Icon

Biographies

Gonaïves, Haïti, 1949

Cap-Haïtien, Haïti, 1957

Port-au-Prince, Haïti, 17 mars 1900 - Pétion-Ville, Haïti, 20 mai 1953

Please reload

Claude DAUPHIN (Gonaïves, Haïti, 1949)

 

Texte de Claude Dauphin, musicologue, fondateur de la SRDMH, écrit à l'occasion du concert d'avril 2014.

 

 

Compositeur nationaliste de la « nouvelle ère », Claude Dauphin, né aux Gonaïves en 1949, est avant tout musicologue. Il a fait ses études musicales à l’ancienne École normale de musique de Westmount, à l’Université du Québec à Montréal, à l’Université de Montréal et à l’Académie Frantz Liszt de Budapest d’où il détient un doctorat.

 

Sur une douzaine de numéros d’opus, deux trouvent grâce devant l’exigeante sélectivité de leur auteur et semblent présenter assez d’intérêt pour avoir retenu l’attention des interprètes et du public : les Contes sans paroles, pour piano, et ce Quatuor à cordes, plusieurs fois exécutés. Robert Grenier, éditeur du Quatuor, le commente ainsi : « Ce quatuor tient son originalité du fait que son compositeur inverse la perspective de nationalisation habituelle à ses compatriotes compositeurs. Il alterne des procédés stylistiques européens à des motifs d’inspiration haïtienne sans privilégier aucune des deux influences. Outre cette brillante approche, Dauphin prodigue, dans le 4e mouvement, un bel effet de bravura. Ce mouvement conclusif est le plus marquant. Sa nouveauté réside dans la manière dont le compositeur adapte, à dessein, un choix impressionnant d’influences (Bach, Bartók, Berg, Schœnberg, Debussy, Villa-Lobos et Messiaen) qu’il a néanmoins enracinées dans le terreau haïtien. »

Gifrants (Cap-Haïtien, Haïti, 1957)

Texte de Claude Dauphin, musicologue, fondateur de la SRDMH, écrit à l'occasion du concert d'avril 2014.

 

 

Né au Cap-Haïtien en 1957, Gifrants vit et compose aux États-Unis. Il se situe dans le prolongement de l’école nationale haïtienne, œuvrant depuis 1905, dont la « nouvelle ère » est caractérisée par le désir de raviver l’expression du pays natal en dépit de son éloignement.

 

De formation autodidacte, Gifrants cultive une approche éclectique de la musique classique imprégnée d’une expérience acquise d’abord en musique populaire et en jazz, sous l’effet des rythmes brésiliens. Il reconnaît dans cette démarche fusionnelle l’influence, souvent énigmatique, de son devancier Gérald Merceron dont il se réclame. Gifrants aspire à insérer, dans le genre classique, la facture musicale des groupes Rasin (Racine) qui conjuguent la musique rurale et les musiques de danse urbaines.

 

« Dyalòg » (Dialogue) et « Pasyon fou » (Folle passion) constituent les deuxième et quatorzième pièces de son recueil pour quatuor à cordes intitulé Pa amou (Par amour). Ce sont deux pièces autonomes dont la narration se déroule sans intermittence de mouvements contrastants. Inspiré et prolifique, Gifrants est l’auteur de sept volumineux recueils de pièces séparées pour formations de chambre ou d’orchestre.

Texte de Claude Dauphin, musicologue, fondateur de la SRDMH, écrit à l'occasion du concert d'octobre 2013.

 

 

Le compositeur Werner Jaegerhuber a enrichi le patrimoine de son pays par son œuvre abondante, imposante et variée dont l’influence nationaliste se fait encore sentir chez les créateurs actuels de la musique classique d’Haïti.

 

Son père, Anton, originaire d'Allemagne, avait épousé Maria Tippenhauer, Haïtienne, elle aussi d'ascendance allemande. Au dire de Werner, c'est sa grand-mère maternelle, Betsy Fouché, qui éveilla sa conscience à la mythologie du vaudou, principale source d’inspiration de sa musique. Jaegerhuber étudie la composition au conservatoire Voigt de Hambourg de 1915 à 1922.

 

Ce cycle d'études dans la patrie de son père est interrompu par un séjour de quelques mois en Haïti, en 1921. Le compositeur regagne définitivement sa terre natale en 1937 après avoir déployé une intense et prometteuse activité professionnelle auprès des meilleures institutions musicales du nord de l’Allemagne. Composée pour le 200e anniversaire de Port-au-Prince, ville fondée sous le régime colonial français en 1749, la partition des Trois scènes historiques a été achevée au mois de novembre 1949.

 

L’œuvre est une cantate mythologique dont les trois tableaux évoquent l’histoire du peuplement noir d’Haïti :

 

1. « L’arrivée » relate la déportation des Noirs d’Afrique vers l’ancienne colonie dénommée alors Saint-Domingue, au XVIIIe siècle. Cette scène dépeint les affres du déracinement originel et du franchissement de l’Atlantique sur les sinistres « négriers », ces bateaux destinés au transport de la marchandise humaine.

 

2. « L’esclave » remet en mémoire la chosification de l’être, sa réduction à l’état d’instrument de production de biens et plaisirs, alors qu’en son for intérieur résonne un irrépressible désir d’amour, de dignité, de justice.

 

3. « L’homme libre » célèbre la révolte contre l’oppression, l’ivresse de la liberté. L’œuvre s’achève sur une exaltation œcuménique où les dieux du vaudou et le Dieu judéo-chrétien sont invoqués par les solistes et le chœur fusionnés.

 

Cette cantate aux rôles anonymes, à l’exception de celui de Neïla dans la deuxième scène, symbolise l’histoire du peuple haïtien, passant de la déchéance à la transcendance, de la mort à la résurrection, et exalte la résilience et l’espoir comme moteur des grands accomplissements humains.

 

Werner JAEGERHUBER (Port-au-Prince, Haïti, 17 mars 1900 - Pétion-Ville, Haïti, 20 mai 1953)

 

    430 rue Sainte Hélène, Bureau 405, Montréal (Québec) H2Y 2K7
    Tél : 514-845-0880 – info@srdmh.com

    • Facebook Social Icon
    • Twitter Social Icon
    • YouTube Social  Icon