Concerts
 

SRDMH mainly organizes for educational and cultural purposes classical music concerts with authors and composers of Haiti and the Caribbean and others who were inspired by this cultural area. The society also programs universal classics when they are part of a Haitian performer’s repertoire or they contribute to a better understanding of the evolution of Haitian music. These concerts take place thanks to the participation of Haitian performers or other artists from another nationality, whenever their collaboration promotes the best dissemination of works from the designated repertoire.

Documentation center
 

SRDMH also aims at developing a documentation centre that encompasses all categories of Haitian and West Indian music. Hosted by the Laboratoire de recherche sur les musiques du monde (LRMM) at Université de Montréal since October 2012, it is to this day the most diverse collection of scores, monographs and soundtracks. This archival collection enables SRDMH to organize its concerts, to share this resource to researchers, and to support music education in Haiti. Thanks to this initiative, the New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians (ed. 2001) now recognizes the existence of Haitian classical music through an article dedicated to ‘‘Haiti: art music’’ (by Robert Grenier) in its famous classification.

Communication
 

Follow us on Facebook to learn all you need to know about upcoming concerts. We regularly publish pictures, articles and information about Haitian artists and composers, and broadcast exclusivly some video clips of concerts and rehearsals.

    430 rue Sainte Hélène, Bureau 405, Montréal (Québec) H2Y 2K7
    Tél : 514-845-0880 – info@srdmh.com

    • Facebook Social Icon
    • Twitter Social Icon
    • YouTube Social  Icon

Concerts
 

Essentiellement, la SRDMH produit à des fins éducatives et culturelles des concerts de musique classique ayant pour auteurs des compositeurs haïtiens, caribéens ou autres qui se sont inspirés de cette aire culturelle. Elle programme aussi des classiques universels lorsque ces derniers font partie du répertoire d’un interprète haïtien ou qu’ils permettent de mieux comprendre l’évolution de la musique haïtienne. Ces concerts sont réalisés avec la participation d’interprètes haïtiens ou autre chaque fois que leur collaboration favorise la meilleure diffusion des œuvres du répertoire désigné.

Centre de documentation
 

La SRDMH a aussi pour mandat de développer un centre de documentation qui englobe toutes les catégories de la musique haïtienne et antillaise. Hébergée par le Laboratoire de recherche sur les musiques du monde (LRMM) de l’Université de Montréal depuis octobre 2012, cette collection de partitions, de monographies et de bandes sonores constitue la plus variée réunie à ce jour. Ce fonds d’archives permet à la SRDMH de réaliser ses concerts, de s’ouvrir aux chercheurs et de soutenir l’éducation musicale en Haïti. Grâce à cette action, le New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians (éd. 2001) reconnaît désormais l’existence d’une musique classique haïtienne en consacrant un article ‘‘Haïti : art music’’ (signé Robert Grenier) dans sa célèbre classification.

Communication
 

Suivez-vous sur Facebook pour tout savoir des prochains concerts. Nous publions régulièrement photos, articles et informations concernant les artistes ou compositeurs haïtiens, et diffusons en exclusivité certains extraits vidéos des concerts ou répétitions.

    430 rue Sainte Hélène, Bureau 405, Montréal (Québec) H2Y 2K7
    Tél : 514-845-0880 – info@srdmh.com

    • Facebook Social Icon
    • Twitter Social Icon
    • YouTube Social  Icon